Do your very best, and some.

Trying to navigate your way through teaching can be a treacherous journey, use the help from your colleagues.


“Now students, it does not matter what grade you receive, as long as your tried your best!” This is an all too familiar saying, and one which puts the importance of effort at the forefront. I agree with this, as it would be impossible to have a classroom of 30 academics.

We are different, however. When it comes to our work as educators, we have chosen this profession, this responsibility. We all do our best to ensure lessons are delivered effectively, PDs are attended, meetings and deadlines are met. *gives self pat in the back*

BUT, and I hate to say it, sometimes our best is not good enough. If I totally suck at writing thorough report comments which link to the syllabus, my ‘best’ just isn’t going to cut it. At least for the parents reading them!

Know when to seek help! Through seeking assistance from your colleagues (and beyond) you will, in turn, make your life a lot easier. It may mean additional training, a point in the right direction, or just some good ‘ole encouragement.

Look at it this way, if I was selected to fill in for my local basketball team (it’s been a while!) for the games leading up to the grand final, my best would not cut it. Through additional training, practice and seeking advice from my team mates, I would create a better version of ‘my best.’

Don’t settle for ‘best,’ use the help of those around you to see what you’ve really got hiding in there!

Leave a comment